Northwest Territories

The Northwest Territories covers a vast area, accounting for 13.5% of Canada's landmass, with a population of over 44,212 (2011). The territory has a rich and diversified resource base, which supports a thriving and strong economy. The government of the Northwest Territories is building on this foundation by promoting diversified resource development and value-added processing.

Key Industries

Mining

Four mines currently operated during 2012, including: Diavik, Ekati and Snap Lake diamond mines, and Cantung tungsten mine. This sector is dominated by diamonds with production valued at $2.1 billion in 2011, which accounted for 97 percent of the total estimated value of metal and non-metal production in the NWT. An estimated 3,000 people are employed by the mining industry in the NWT.

NWT deposit appraisal expenditures estimated for 2011 was $105.4 million; this was a 30 percent increase from the $81.7 million for 2010.  There is a preliminary estimate of $124 million in 2012 expenditures, a further 17 percent increase. There are currently seven significant mineral projects in various stages of development in the NWT. These include projects proposing to mine diamonds, rare earth metals, cobalt, silver, bismuth, nickel, zinc and gold.

Oil and Gas

Oil and gas exploration in the Northwest Territories is heavily in the Central Mackenzie region, with an increased focus on the offshore Beaufort Sea area. More than $600 million in work commitments have been made in the Sahtu Region, with nearly 450 seasonal jobs created in 2012. An estimated six trillion cubic feet of discovered gas reserves and nearly seven billion barrels of oil have been identified across the NWT.

Exploration in the Beaufort Sea is expected to increase in the next few years, with nearly $1.8 billion in work commitment already pledged.  Once the initial exploration work is completed and the licences and permits have been secured, drilling in the Beaufort Sea could begin sometime between 2018 and 2020

Construction

The construction industry contributed $220 million to gross domestic product in 2011.  The industry is heavily dependent on mining development and capital expenditures by the public sector.  The industry has developed innovative solutions for Arctic construction and companies in the region have exported their expertise to Russia and other polar regions.

Transportation

This industry is a major employer, accounting for up to 10 per cent of all employment of the Northwest Territories.  The industry continues to play a crucial role in the development of the territories.  Supplying remote communities, moving workers and materials to job sites and getting products to market all require transportation.  In 2011, transportation and warehousing contributed $223 million to total GDP.

Tourism

The tourism industry was valued at more than $97 million for the 2011/2012 season, of which half was for business travel. The tourism season in the Northwest Territories is year-round with distinct markets for winter and spring aurora viewing, summer road traffic, and fall fishing and hunting. New opportunities are developing for Aboriginal tourism that will promote unique Aboriginal cultural experiences.

Northwest Territories Contributions to the Economy

Key Economic Indicators for the Northwest Territories

  • Gross domestic product was $3.5 billion in 2011.
  • $81,316 per capita gross domestic product in 2011, the highest in Canada.
  • $74,746 average income per taxable return in 2010, the highest in Canada.
  • 72.3% rate of employment (July 2011).
  • $73,037 in exports per capita in 2011
Major Exports in 2011 Value
Diamonds $2.1 billion
Crude Oil $396 million
Natural Gas $20 million

Anticipated Major Project Investments Projected to the Year 2015

  • $960 million for the De Beers Gahcho Kue diamond mine project.
  • More than $600 million in works commitments in oil and gas exploration in the Sahtu region.
  • $210 million for the Fortune Minerals Nico gold, cobalt and bismuth mine project.
  • $100 million for the Tyhee Yellowknife gold project.
  • $55 million for the Prairie Creek silver, zinc and lead mine project

A Look to the Future

The economy of the Northwest Territories is based on the primary resource industries of diamonds, oil, gas, and the harvesting of other natural resources.  Through exploration, research and innovation, there is huge potential to expand this resource base into new areas. Significant opportunities exist to add value to the region's primary products, diversify the economy, and to improve efficiency in processing resources.

The planned development of natural gas in the Northwest Territories combined with the discovery of significant oil in the Sahtu region, coupled with the resurgence of the secondary diamond industry will contribute significantly to the national gross domestic product. The Northwest Territories also has enormous stores of other precious and base metals that remain untapped for lack of adequate infrastructure and investment.

Opportunities exist in the renewable resources industry including forestry, fishing and fur harvesting, as well as hydroelectricity. Preliminary studies show that the Northwest Territories has the potential to generate comparable hydro power to Baie-James or Churchill Falls using modern run-of-river technology that will limit environmental impacts.

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (TNO) s’étendent sur une vaste région qui représente 13,5 % de la superficie du Canada. Avec une population de plus de 44 000 habitants (2011) et des ressources naturelles à la fois riches et diversifiées, les TNO bénéficient d’une économie forte et florissante. Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest mise sur ces richesses en privilégiant une exploitation diversifiée des ressources et un traitement à valeur ajoutée.

Principales industries

Mines

Quatre mines sont actuellement en exploitation : les mines de diamants Diavik, Ekati et Snap Lake et la mine de tungstène Cantung. Le secteur est dominé par le diamant, avec une production évaluée à 2,1 milliards de dollars en 2011, soit 97 pour cent de la valeur totale estimée de la production de minerais métalliques et non métalliques aux TNO. Environ 3 000 personnes travaillent dans l’industrie minière des TNO.

En 2011, les dépenses de mise en valeur des gisements aux TNO étaient estimées à 105,4 millions de dollars, une augmentation de 30 pour cent par rapport aux 81,7 millions de dollars de 2010. L’estimation préliminaire des dépenses de 2012 s’élève à 124 millions de dollars, soit une augmentation additionnelle de 17 pour cent. On compte actuellement sept importants projets miniers à divers stades de développement aux TNO. Il s’agit notamment de projets d’extraction de diamants, de métaux des terres rares, de cobalt, d’argent, de bismuth, de nickel, de zinc et d’or.

Pétrole et gaz

L’exploration pétrolière et gazière aux TNO est concentrée dans la partie centrale de la vallée du Mackenzie, et principalement dans la zone extracôtière de la mer de Beaufort. Des engagements de travaux de plus de 600 millions de dollars ont été réalisés dans la région du Sahtu et ont permis la création de près de 450 emplois saisonniers en 2012. On estime que les TNO renferment des réserves de 170 milliards de mètres cubes de gaz naturel et de près de 7 milliards de barils de pétrole.

Dans la mer de Beaufort, on s’attend à ce que l’exploration augmente au cours des prochaines années. En effet, près de 1,8 milliard de dollars en travaux sont déjà engagés. On prévoit que, lorsque les premiers travaux d’exploration seront terminés et que les licences et les permis auront été obtenus, le forage dans la mer de Beaufort pourrait commencer quelque part entre 2018 et 2020.

Construction

En 2011, l’industrie de la construction a contribué pour 220 millions de dollars au produit intérieur brut. Cette industrie est fortement tributaire de l’exploitation minière et des dépenses en immobilisations du secteur public. Elle a par ailleurs mis au point des solutions innovantes pour la construction dans l’Arctique, et les entreprises de la région ont exporté leur savoir-faire en Russie et dans d’autres régions polaires.

Transport

Le secteur du transport est un employeur de taille qui regroupe jusqu’à 10 pour cent de tous les travailleurs des TNO et qui joue un rôle crucial dans le développement du territoire. L’approvisionnement des collectivités éloignées, le transport des travailleurs et des matériaux jusqu’aux chantiers de construction et l’acheminement des produits vers les marchés dépendent tous des activités de ce secteur. En 2011, le transport et l’entreposage ont contribué pour 223 millions de dollars au produit intérieur brut total.

Tourisme

Pour la saison 2011-2012, l’industrie du tourisme a été évaluée à plus de 97 millions de dollars, dont la moitié provenait des voyages d’affaires. La saison touristique aux TNO dure toute l’année, mais les différents marchés varient selon la saison : observation des aurores boréales en hiver et au printemps, circulation routière en été et chasse et pêche en automne. En outre, le tourisme autochtone, qui fera la promotion d’expériences culturelles autochtones uniques, est en pleine expansion.

Contributions des Territoires du Nord-Ouest à l’économie

Principaux indicateurs économiques pour les TNO

  • Produit intérieur brut de 3,5 milliards de dollars en 2011.
  • Produit intérieur brut par habitant de 81 316 $ en 2011, le plus élevé au Canada.
  • Revenu moyen par déclaration de revenus de 74 746 $ en 2010, le plus élevé au Canada.
  • Taux d’emploi de 72,3 % (juillet 2011).
  • Exportations par habitant de 73 037 $ en 2011.
Principales exportations en 2011 Valeur

Diamants

2,1 milliards de dollars

Pétrole brut

396 millions de dollars

Gaz naturel

20 millions de dollars

Investissements dans des projets d’envergure prévus jusqu’en 2015

  • 960 millions de dollars pour le projet de mine de diamants Gahcho Kué de De Beers.
  • Plus de 600 millions de dollars en engagements de travaux pour l’exploration pétrolière et gazière dans la région du Sahtu.
  • 210 millions de dollars pour le projet de mine d’or, de cobalt et de bismuth NICO de Fortune Minerals.
  • 100 millions de dollars pour le projet aurifère de Tyhee à Yellowknife.
  • 55 millions de dollars pour le projet de mine d’argent, de zinc et de plomb de Prairie Creek.

Perspectives pour l’avenir

L’économie des Territoires du Nord-Ouest repose sur les industries de ressources primaires du diamant, du pétrole et du gaz et sur l’exploitation d’autres ressources naturelles. Grâce à l’exploration, à la recherche et à l’innovation, le potentiel de développement de cette base de ressources vers de nouveaux domaines est énorme. Il existe d’excellentes possibilités d’ajouter de la valeur aux produits primaires de la région, de diversifier l’économie et d’améliorer l’efficacité du traitement des ressources.

Le développement prévu dans le secteur du gaz naturel aux TNO, jumelé à la découverte d’importantes quantités de pétrole dans la région du Sahtu et à la résurgence de l’industrie secondaire du diamant, contribuera de manière significative au produit intérieur brut national. Les TNO possèdent également d’énormes réserves d’autres métaux précieux et de base qui demeurent inexploitées en raison du manque d’infrastructures et d’investissements adéquats.

Le secteur des ressources renouvelables, y compris la foresterie, la pêche, les fourrures et l’hydroélectricité, offre quant à lui de nombreuses possibilités. Selon des études préliminaires, les TNO possèdent les ressources nécessaires pour produire des quantités d’hydroélectricité comparables à celles de la Baie-James ou de Churchill Falls en utilisant une technologie moderne au fil de l’eau qui permettrait de réduire l’impact sur l’environnement.