Québec

Québec’s northern territory includes all of Québec located north of the 49th parallel and north of the St. Lawrence River and Gulf of St. Lawrence, an area of almost 1.2 million km2 that represents 72% of Québec’s total land mass.

It has a population of over 120,000 people, of whom one-third are Aboriginals from four nations (Inuit, Cree, Innu and Naskapi), living in 31 communities. There are also 32 non-aboriginal communities in the Baie-James, north of Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean and Côte-Nord regions.

The Plan Nord

Quebec's vision for northern development is articulated in the Plan Nord.

The Plan Nord is intended to develop the mineral, energy, forest, social, cultural and tourism potential of Québec’s northern territory and to create jobs and wealth both for northern communities and for all Quebecers in a spirit of respect for northern communities and the environment. By balancing the economic, social and environmental facets on which the Plan Nord hinges, the Québec government wishes to make it a reference in the realm of responsible, sustainable northern development and a unifying project for Québec society.

By 2035, the Plan Nord will have enabled the development of this rich resources area, for the benefit of its populations and of the whole of Québec, through an exemplary form of sustainable development based on a comprehensive, integrated, consistent and responsible approach.

The Plan Nord could not exist without a close partnership with the communities that inhabit this vast territory and in a manner consistent with the development priorities they have defined for themselves. The Plan Nord will be implemented in partnership with them.

Development of the North’s Economic Potential

The Plan Nord territory contains energy, forest, mineral and wildlife resources that Quebec intends to develop.

The territory covered by the Plan Nord produces all of Québec’s nickel, cobalt, platinum group metal, zinc, iron ore and ilmenite, and accounts for a significant portion of gold and diamond production. It is also a source of apatite, diamonds, lithium, vanadium, graphite (and graphene) and rare earths elements.

In terms of energy, Québec is the world’s fourth largest producer of hydroelectricity. It is the site of 75% of Québec’s installed hydroelectric capacity and has further untapped potential for hydroelectric, wind and solar energy generation.

Furthermore, Northern Québec contains over 200,000 km² of commercial forests, which account for more than 53 % of Québec’s operable forests. The annual allowable cut in the area covered by the Plan Nord is 11.8 million cubic metres of timber.

Finally, with its diverse cultures, unique landscapes and exceptional wildlife potential, northern Quebec has everything to become a world-class tourist destination.

Development and Wellbeing of Local and Aboriginal Communities

Québec has placed the local and aboriginal communities in the area covered by the Plan Nord at the heart of its concerns. In addition to creating the conditions needed for the development of the area’s resources, it is essential to focus on the living conditions of the people living in the area and to respond to their specific needs.

Québec wishes that the development of the North benefit the northern population as a whole, and not only the communities that host development projects. Support must be provided for communities placed under pressure by the establishment of large-scale economic projects in their vicinity.

Protection of the Environment and Biodiversity Conservation

Québec has a rich and unique Nordic heritage. It still retains vast stretches of land, in addition to lakes and rivers that are in pristine condition or have remained relatively undisturbed. The biodiversity of this vast territory, where the human footprint is still small and a high degree of naturalness can be found, constitutes an important symbol of identity for the people who live there and for the whole of Québec.

To protect the environment and conserve biodiversity in the North, Québec aims to, by 2035, dedicate 50% of the area covered by the Plan Nord to non-industrial purposes, protection of the environment and the safeguarding of biodiversity. It also aims to gain knowledge about the area’s physical and ecological environment in order to identify the most appropriate conservation measures and recognize the potential for development, and to ensure efficient processes for environmental assessment for development projects.

Conditions for Success

The vastness of the territory, the remoteness of the communities, the lack of links between northern and southern Québec and access to outside markets are all factors that may limit northern development. Québec will support the development of strategic transportation, energy and communications infrastructures.  

In addition, reliable, valid data is needed to ensure the sustainable and integrated development of northern Québec. Québec will, for this purpose, support the creation of the Institut nordique du Québec, an interuniversity research center that will bring together experts in social sciences, natural, health and engineering dedicated to the harmonious and sustainable development of the North.

The Société du Plan Nord

To coordinate and apply the actions needed to implement the Plan Nord, the government has chosen to create a governance structure adapted to the specific characteristics of the North and to the needs of local and aboriginal communities, the Société du Plan Nord. Its mission is to contribute, in collaboration with the representatives of the regions and the aboriginal nations concerned, as well as the private sector, to the integrated and coherent development of the area covered by the Plan Nord, in keeping with the principle of sustainable development and in accordance with the policy directions defined by the Government in relation to the Plan Nord.

For more information on the Plan Nord, visit www.plannord.gouv.qc.ca/en.

Québec

Le territoire nordique du Québec regroupe tout ce qui se trouve au nord du 49e parallèle et au nord du fleuve Saint-Laurent et du golfe du Saint-Laurent. Il représente une superficie de 1,2 million de kilomètres carrés, soit 72 % du Québec.

On y compte plus de 120 000 habitants, dont le tiers est autochtone, réparti en quatre nations (inuite, crie, innue et naskapie) et résidant dans 31 communautés, ainsi que 32 communautés non autochtones jamésiennes, jeannoises et nord-côtières.

Le Plan Nord

La vision du Québec pour le développement nordique s’articule dans le Plan Nord.

Le Plan Nord a pour but de mettre en valeur le plein potentiel du territoire nordique québécois et de créer des emplois et de la richesse tant pour les communautés nordiques que pour l’ensemble des Québécois. En harmonisant les dimensions économiques, sociale et environnementale sur lesquels repose le Plan Nord, le gouvernement du Québec souhaite en faire une référence en matière de développement nordique responsable et durable et un projet rassembleur pour la société québécoise.

À l’horizon 2035, le Plan Nord aura permis la mise en valeur du potentiel diversifié du territoire, au bénéfice de ses populations et de tout le Québec, dans le cadre d’un développement durable exemplaire, selon une approche globale, intégrée, cohérente et responsable.

Par ailleurs, le Plan Nord ne saurait exister sans un dialogue étroit et un partenariat avec les communautés locales et autochtones nordiques ainsi que le respect des priorités de développement qu’elles se sont données. Le déploiement du Plan Nord se fera en partenariat avec elles.

La mise en valeur du potentiel économique du Nord

Le territoire du Plan Nord renferme d’importantes ressources énergétiques, forestières, minérales et fauniques que le Québec entend mettre en valeur.

Il assure la totalité de la production québécoise de nickel, de cobalt, des éléments du groupe du platine, de zinc, de minerai de fer et d’ilménite, et une part importante de la production d’or et de diamants. On y retrouve également de l’apatite, du lithium, du vanadium, du graphite (et du graphène) ainsi que des terres rares.

En matière d’énergie, le Québec est le quatrième plus grand producteur d’hydroélectricité au monde. Près de 75 % de la production hydroélectrique du Québec est produite sur le territoire du Plan Nord,  et son potentiel de développement hydraulique, éolien et solaire demeure considérable.

De plus, le Nord québécois compte 200 000 kilomètres carrés de forêts, soit 53 % des forêts exploitables du Québec. Le potentiel de récolte annuel représente 11,8 millions de mètres cubes de bois.

Enfin, avec ses cultures diversifiées présentes sur le territoire, ses paysages uniques et son potentiel faunique exceptionnel, le Nord du Québec possède tous les atouts pour devenir une destination touristique de calibre mondial.

Le développement et le mieux-être des communautés locales et autochtones

Le Québec place les communautés locales et autochtones présentes sur le territoire du Plan Nord au cœur de ses préoccupations. Au-delà d’assurer les conditions propices à la mise en valeur des ressources du territoire, il est essentiel de se soucier des conditions de vie des populations qui y résident et de répondre à leurs besoins spécifiques.

Le Québec souhaite que le développement du Nord bénéficie à l’ensemble de la population nordique, et non pas seulement aux communautés qui accueillent de nouveaux projets de développement. Il importe également de soutenir les communautés qui font face à des pressions importantes générées par l’implantation de grands projets économiques à proximité de leur milieu.

La protection de l’environnement et de la biodiversité

Le Québec dispose de très vastes étendues de territoires, de lacs et de rivières intacts ou très peu perturbés. La biodiversité de ce vaste territoire, où l’empreinte humaine est encore faible et où on trouve un haut degré de naturalité, constitue un symbole identitaire important pour les gens qui l’occupent et pour toute la population du Québec.

Afin de protéger l’environnement et de conserver la biodiversité du Nord, le Québec s’est donné comme objectif de consacrer, d’ici 2035, 50 % du territoire du Plan Nord à des fins autres qu’industrielles, de même qu’à la protection de l’environnement et à la sauvegarde de la biodiversité. Il entend également améliorer les connaissances sur les milieux physique et écologique du territoire afin de cibler les mesures de conservation les plus appropriées et de caractériser les potentiels de développement, et assurer des processus d’évaluation environnementale efficaces pour les projets de développement.

Les conditions de réussite

L’étendue du territoire, l’isolement des communautés, le manque de liens entre le nord et le sud du Québec, l’ouverture vers les marchés extérieurs sont autant d’enjeux qui peuvent limiter le développement du Nord. Le Québec entend soutenir le développement des infrastructures stratégiques de transport, d’énergie et de communication pour favoriser le développement du Nord.

Par ailleurs, il est primordial de se baser sur des données fiables et valides afin d’assurer un développement durable et intégré du Nord québécois. À cette fin, le Québec soutient la création de l’Institut nordique du Québec, un centre de recherche interuniversitaire qui rassemblera des experts des sciences sociales, naturelles, de la santé et du génie voués au développement harmonieux et durable du Nord.

La Société du Plan Nord

Pour coordonner la mise en œuvre du Plan Nord, le gouvernement a choisi de se doter d’une structure de gouvernance adaptée aux particularités des territoires nordiques et aux besoins des populations locales et autochtones, la Société du Plan Nord. Elle a pour mission, dans une perspective de développement durable, de contribuer au développement intégré et cohérent du territoire du Plan Nord, en conformité avec les orientations définies par le gouvernement relatives au Plan Nord et en concertation avec les représentants des régions et des nations autochtones concernées ainsi que du secteur privé.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le Plan Nord, visitez le site www.plannord.gouv.qc.ca.