Yukon

Covering an area of 482,443 km2, Yukon represents 4.8 per cent of Canada’s total landmass with a population of over 36,000. Well known for its mining heritage, Yukon’s economy continues to be driven forward by this industry, which has flourished in recent years thanks to high mineral prices.

In addition, well-established transportation infrastructure, a skilled labour force and a rich array of other natural and human resources have enabled the growth of numerous secondary industries. Together these factors have given Yukon a strong, vibrant society characterized by an excellent quality of life, a bright economic outlook and tremendous opportunity.

Key Industries

Mining

In recent years, Yukon’s mining sector experienced a strong period of growth with mining activity taking place in all areas of the mining life cycle.

Yukon is well recognized as a premier mining location. Canada was ranked the #1 country for mining investment by Ernst & Young and #2 by Behre Dolbear Minerals Industry Advisors Group. Distinct from the rest of Canada, Yukon is situated near the deep water ports of Skagway and Haines, Alaska allowing easy access to key shipping routes to Asia and over-land routes in North America.

The value of Yukon mineral production is projected to be above $600 million in 2012, up significantly from $402 million in 2011.

Yukon mines produce: gold, copper, lead, zinc, silver, tungsten and iron ore.

Tourism

Tourism is Yukon's second largest private sector industry with distinct markets in wilderness and recreational adventure, wildlife viewing, highway travel, spring and winter aurora viewing and a wealth of historical and cultural attractions.

Oil and Gas

Yukon's oil and gas basins are rich in potential given the growing demand for energy in North America. The Government of Yukon is now exploring the feasibility of utilizing these local gas resources to meet Yukon’s future energy demands. Production at Kotaneelee, currently Yukon’s only producing natural gas field is ongoing. New investment in the Eagle Plains basin is opening new possibility for development.

Construction

The construction industry has developed numerous innovative projects and solutions to the unique challenges of building in remote wilderness regions and Arctic weather conditions. Yukon is at the forefront of northern construction expertise with environmental and energy efficient design paired with new standards for foundations, walls and ventilation systems.

Arts and Culture

Creativity flourishes in Yukon. The strong influences of Yukon’s First Nations and the territory’s rich artistic history have fostered the development of one Canada’s highest concentrations of artists, artisans and musicians.

Yukon’s annual calendar is filled with public art and cultural events:  For example, the Dawson City Music Festival, the Sourdough Rendezvous and Sunstroke Music Festivals in Whitehorse, and the Spring Crane and Sheep Festival in Faro are some of the territory’s renowned celebrations.  Yukon also hosts a number of internationally acclaimed sporting events like the Yukon Quest Dog Sled Race and the Kluane Chilkat International Bike Relay.

Yukon's Contribution to the Economy

The Yukon economy is expected to grow in 2014, for the 11th consecutive year. Current expectations are that the real GDP will continue to grow in 2014 by 1.7 percent.

Yukon's labour force has grown and set new records in recent years. Yukon anticipates a continue population growth of 1.4 per cent in 2014 and a continued lower unemployment rate.

For more information on Yukon's economy visit www.economics.gov.yk.ca.

A Look to the Future

Yukon will continue to see growth in the mining sector as new projects add to the three already operating mines in the territory.

Investment in the Eagle Plains basin will continue as well as continued diversification of the tourism industry.

Self-governing First Nations are key investors in business start-ups and joint ventures and will continue to be a large part of Yukon’s success. This increase in economic opportunities will be reflected in Yukon’s demographics – the population will continue to grow, bringing an influx of skilled labour to the territory.

Along with the change in population, the Government of Yukon will increase investment in education and training institutions like Yukon College. This investment focus will ensure young Yukoners have the opportunity to remain in the territory as they pursue higher education and permanent careers.

Yukon

Couvrant 482 443 km2, le Yukon représente 4,8 % de la superficie totale du Canada; sa population se chiffre à plus de 36 000 habitants. Bien connu pour son riche patrimoine minier, le Yukon tire profit d’une industrie minière qui, grâce à la hausse du prix des minéraux des dernières années, continue de contribuer à la croissance de l’économie du territoire.

Le Yukon dispose également d’une solide infrastructure de transport, d’une main-d’œuvre qualifiée et d’un large éventail de ressources naturelles et humaines qui ont favorisé la naissance de nombreuses industries secondaires. Pris ensemble, ces facteurs ont contribué à créer une société yukonnaise forte et dynamique, qui jouit d’une excellente qualité de vie, de perspectives économiques prometteuses et de possibilités énormes.

Principales industries

Exploitation minière

Au cours des dernières années, le secteur minier a connu une forte période de croissance grâce à des activités minières se déroulant dans toutes les phases du cycle de vie des mines.

Le Yukon est reconnu pour son important potentiel minéral. Le Canada a d’ailleurs été classé premier au monde en matière d’investissement dans le secteur minier par le cabinet Ernst & Young, et deuxième par le groupe de conseillers de l’industrie minière Behre Dolbear. Distinct du reste du Canada, le Yukon se situe près des ports en eau profonde de Skagway et de Haines, en Alaska, ce qui lui procure un accès facile aux importantes routes maritimes vers l’Asie et aux routes terrestres en Amérique du Nord.

En 2012, on estime à plus de 600 millions de dollars la valeur de la production minérale au Yukon, ce qui représente une hausse importante par rapport aux 402 millions de dollars en 2011.

Les mines du Yukon produisent de l’or, du cuivre, du plomb, du zinc, de l’argent, du tungstène et du minerai de fer.

Tourisme

L’industrie touristique est la deuxième en importance du secteur privé au Yukon. Elle vise divers marchés bien définis : tourisme d’aventure et en milieu sauvage, observation de la faune, tourisme routier, observation des aurores boréales (au printemps et en hiver) et visite de nombreuses attractions historiques et culturelles.

Pétrole et gaz

Les gisements pétroliers et gaziers du Yukon présentent un riche potentiel étant donné l’augmentation de la demande énergétique en Amérique du Nord. Le gouvernement du Yukon est en train d’étudier la possibilité d’utiliser les ressources gazières du territoire pour répondre aux besoins futurs du Yukon en matière d’énergie. La production du champ gazier Kotaneelee, le seul actuellement en exploitation au Yukon, se poursuit. De nouveaux investissements offriront de nouvelles possibilités d’exploitation du bassin Eagle Plains.

Construction

L’industrie du bâtiment a réalisé de nombreux projets novateurs et proposé des solutions innovantes face aux défis bien particuliers que pose la construction dans des régions sauvages éloignées et dans le climat arctique. Le Yukon possède une expertise de pointe en matière de construction nordique : conception écoénergétique et écologique alliée à de nouvelles normes pour les fondations, les murs et les systèmes de ventilation.

Arts et culture

La créativité est évidente partout au Yukon. La forte influence des Premières nations du Yukon et la riche histoire artistique du territoire ont favorisé l’éclosion de l’une des plus grandes concentrations d’artistes, d’artisans et de musiciens au pays.

Le calendrier annuel des choses à faire au Yukon est rempli d’activités artistiques et culturelles destinées au public. Par exemple, le festival de musique de Dawson, le Sourdough Rendezvous et le Sunstroke Music Festival (à Whitehorse) et le festival d’observation des mouflons et des grues (tous les printemps, à Faro) comptent au nombre des activités les plus prisées du territoire. Le Yukon est également l’hôte d’un certain nombre de manifestations sportives de renommée internationale, comme la Yukon Quest, une course d’attelages de chiens, et la Kluane Chilkat International Bike Relay, une grande course de relais à vélo.

Contribution du Yukon à l'économie

En 2014, le PIB réel devrait progresser. On prévoit une croissance économique au Yukon pour la onzième année consécutive.

Au cours des dernières années, la population active du territoire a connu une augmentation, établissant de nouveaux records. Le Yukon devrait connaître une croissance démographique de 1,4 % en 2014 et afficher un taux de chômage toujours plus bas.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’économie du Yukon, visitez le www.economics.gov.yk.ca.

Perspectives

Le secteur minier continuera de croître au Yukon à mesure que de nouveaux projets miniers s’ajouteront aux trois mines déjà en exploitation.

On continuera à investir dans la mise en valeur du bassin Eagle Plains et à favoriser la diversification au sein du secteur touristique.

Les Premières nations autonomes sont des investisseurs clés dans les entreprises en démarrage et dans les coentreprises, et elles continueront à contribuer largement à la réussite du Yukon. L’élargissement des perspectives économiques se reflétera dans l’évolution démographique du territoire – la population continuera à augmenter et de plus en plus de travailleurs qualifiés seront attirés au Yukon.

Pour faire face au changement démographique, le gouvernement du Yukon augmentera le soutien financier accordé aux établissements d’enseignement et de formation, notamment le Collège du Yukon. Cette aide financière ciblée permettra aux jeunes Yukonnais de poursuivre leurs études postsecondaires de même que leur carrière professionnelle dans le territoire.